Before

12919925_479926172197704_8102611164817814571_n

Before I loved you I was
A child with wild wishes and vast memories
Making my way through the jungle of adults,
Searching for my mythical self.
I was also a teenage dreamer
Swaying to the rhythm of old jazz,
Imagining love in the wee small hours,
Sweating feverish for the lover that never was.
I was a barbed cynic of Gen XYZ,
Always ready to tear down high walls
And knee impotent tyrants in the nuts.
I was a self-proclaimed intellectual
Aping the ways of Herr Nietzsche and co.
Spitting at the proud ignorant world.
I was a Believer convinced
Of the magic of reincarnation,
The unstoppable flow of natural life.

But with you I begin with an empty page,
No trace of yesteryear’s growing pains,
For the first day of creation is here and now.

4.2.16  Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Photo taken in Kuala Lumpur in 2013.

Leave a Reply

