Homecoming (1)

12494779_479918405531814_695006175989653907_n

I once knew a boy who
Roamed the beach and rode the waves;
Drew life symbols in the gentle sand;
Belted love songs as the sun went down;
Languished peaceful in the sultry sensual air;
Hopped from one day to the next feather-light;
Embraced his friends swearing faith for life;
Loved strangers with beatnik hopefulness.

I believe he’s returned
To the old town where we both grew up.
The potholed streets and raucous hawkers
Speak his name when I walk past,
And I catch myself mouthing his name
Over and over in the impatient traffic.
Why have you not come for me, my friend?
Where has all the good love gone?

16.1.16  Penang, Malaysia

Leave a Reply

